Unboxing: Saladbox Pretty Fixes – August 2016

Sometime last June, I decided to avail the Starter Plan (3-month box subscription) offered by Saladbox. The first box that I got from them last July was an exclusive Benefit box and it was nothing short of amazing.

The August box, on the other hand, isn’t a special edition box. They simply call it “Pretty Fixes”.

saladbox pretty fixes - august 2016

Saladbox said that the August box was meant to showcase some of the innovations of the beauty industry. They have included samples of different products that are supposed to help solve some of our beauty concerns.

august saladbox - pretty fixes

Let’s check each one:

body fantasies body cologne

Body Fantasies Body Cologne – Full Size 29ml (Php66 each)

The funny/scary thing is that Saladbox printed the wrong description on their card regarding these colognes. Saladbox actually described it as “This invisible balm mattifies shine, leaving skin feeling silky soft. Smooth under or over makeup.” For a moment, I got a bit confused and I actually thought that these may not actually be body colognes because of the description printed on the card. Imagine if someone failed to double check this and imagine if that someone sprayed this on his/her face. Oh, that’s hell! Thankfully, I double-checked it.

Anyway, I tried to spray these colognes  on my wrist and I have to say that the Japanese Cherry Blossom Body Spray (purple bottle) wasn’t bad. However, the Fresh White Musk Body Spray was terrible. I didn’t like it at all. I don’t know how to explain it in such a way that I won’t end up offending anyone but the only way I can describe it is that the scent just reminded me of anything old. That’s it. I certainly don’t plan on using this.

rraw bath fizz foot soak

Rraw Bath Fizz Foot Soak – Full Size (Php130)

I had a hard time looking for more information about this bath soak on Rraw’s Facebook page and website so the only thing I can tell you is that it’s a mineral-filled foot soak.

The sample they gave us is good for a one-time use only and today, I decided to finally use it. Since there weren’t any instructions printed on the card, I just soaked my feet for about 10 minutes in slightly cold water mixed with the Rraw bath fizz foot soak.

I am now in love with this bath soak. Seriously! Even though I used cold water, the experience was still very nice. My feet looked so clean and felt so freakin’ soft and smooth. I can’t even control myself from touching my feet every once in a while. I am very impressed. This actually makes me want to try the other products sold by Rraw. 🙂

glamglow youthmud treatment mask

Glamglow Youthmud Treatment Mask – Full Size (Php3300) / Sample Size 5g (Php380)

This Glamglow Youthmud “Tinglexfoliate” Treatment is a mask that will help tighten the skin. I have actually had the pleasure of trying out the other product of Glamglow (Supermud Clearning Treatment) in the past and the result was amazing so I already had a feeling that this one would be just as great.
Glamglow’s products are quite expensive so it is understandable that we were only given a sample that’s for one-time use only. I actually wanted to save this for future use but because my face felt like it needed some tender loving care, I decided to just use it today. 🙂

I emptied the sachet and put everything on my face. I made sure to put more of that mud on my problem areas (large pores and a big pimple on the chin) and I let it stay on my skin for 10 minutes. I did feel some tingling sensation especially during the first 5 minutes but it was tolerable. After 10 minutes, I slowly rinsed it with water. The instruction says that you can wash your face in a circular motion to further exfoliate the skin so I did exactly just that.

As I expected, I am happy with the result. My skin feels tighter and I noticed that my pores have minimized and, most importantly, the big pimple I had on my chin became smaller. No kidding!

tresemme split repair serum

TRESemme Split Repair Serum – Full Size 97ml (Php400)

TRESemme Split Repair Serum reduces frizz and seals in shine for a polished finish. With Repair Complex, this unique formula reduces split ends by up to 88% after just 3 uses and with continued use, keeps working to fix damage.

Their claim of reducing split ends by up to 88% after 3 uses is quite bold but they did say that this result is based on their test where they also used their own Split Repair Shampoo and Conditioner. I don’t have their shampoo and conditioner so it would be interesting to see if this serum will still produce a good result even if I use another brand of shampoo and conditioner. Also, I wonder how many uses it will take before I can actually see visible results. I haven’t tried this yet but I’m happy that Saladbox included this in the box because I do have problems with split ends and I’m not really the type that goes to a salon every few months just to have a trim so this product will be perfect for me. I just hope that it’s effective.

the beauty bask - multi-active beauty soap block

The Beauty Bask Multi-Active Beauty Soap Block – Full Size (Php208 – Php228) / Sample Size (Php70)

This Multi-Active Beauty Soap Block draws out deep impurities, brightens skin despite the unavoidable dose of sun, stress and pollution.

The first thing I noticed about this soap is its scent. It smells so good to the point that it is almost addicting. On their website, they said that this soap block can be used on both the face and the body but I haven’t really tried it on my face yet. I’m trying to be extra careful now when it comes to using new products on my face so I have only tried this on a small portion of my arm. If I don’t get any allergic reactions, I’ll use it on my face next time.

resorts world skin perfection salon

This gift certificate is valid for use for the following services: Facial, Diamond Peel, Radio Frequency, Cavitation, Diode Permanent Hair Removal, IPL Hair Removal and Skin Rejuvenation services. 

I’m glad that this gift certificate does not require us to spend any money before we can use it BUT I don’t know if they have any services (that I like) that would cost just Php500 or below. I tried checking their Facebook page but most of the services they listed cost more than a thousand. I will have to call them tomorrow to confirm their prices.

sleek makeup workshop

Saladbox has not announced anything about the sleek makeup workshop yet. I tried checking the URL printed on the card but the page doesn’t exist (at the moment). I don’t know the schedule of this workshop but I am hoping it’s near my place. Last month, Saladbox invited their July subscribers to their exclusive Benefit event but I had to skip it because it was in SM Megamall. If they hold the Sleek Makeup Workshop in SM Megamall again, this card worth Php1000 will be wasted. 😦

saladbox pretty fixes - curator card

In all honesty, when I opened this box, I wasn’t that happy at all. I thought that even though the contents are all new to me, it still didn’t get me excited. I was so happy with the July box (Benefit box) that I was somewhat expecting more from the August box. However, as I was checking and testing each item for the purpose of this review, I realized that I actually do like most of the products. I enjoyed using the Glamglow Treatment Mask and Rraw’s Bath Fizz Foot Soak even though both of these are just for one-time use. The TRESemme Split Repair Serum and the Beauty Bask Multi-Active Beauty Soap Block are both very promising. I am also excited to attend the Sleek Makeup Workshop provided that the event location is near my area. The only thing that I wasn’t really that happy about was the body cologne. Apart from that, everything seems to be on point so I don’t really have anything to complain about.

The total value of the box (if I include the GC and the makeup workshop) is more than 4 times what I paid for so it’s definitely a good deal. If Saladbox continues to do well, I might just end up availing their 6-month or even 1-year subscription plan. 🙂

 

Saladbox

Website: http://www.saladbox.com.ph/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Saladbox/?fref=ts

GLAMGLOW Philippines

Website: http://www.glamglowmud.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/glamglowphilippines/timeline

TRESemme Philippines

Website: http://tresemme.com.ph/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/TRESemmePH/?fref=ts

Body Fantasies

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/BodyFantasiesPH/?fref=ts

Rraw

Website: http://rrawph.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/rrawph/

The Beauty Bask

Website: http://www.thebeautybask.com/

Sleek Makeup Philippines

Website: http://www.sleekmakeup.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/SleekMakeupPhilippines/?fref=ts

Skin Perfection by Vanity

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/SPbyVanity/

One thought on “Unboxing: Saladbox Pretty Fixes – August 2016

  1. Pingback: Worst Ever: Saladbox – Holiday Box 2016 | Everything Under The Sun

Leave a Reply

