Madame Loulou Mug Cake

Have you ever tried making a simple brownie using the microwave oven?

Well, I have always wanted to try it but every time I look at the list of ingredients that I have to buy, it somehow makes me change my mind.

Fortunately though, I found a product that would allow me to make a brownie/cupcake without the added fuss.

madame loulou - mug cake

When I visited “All About Baking” along Quezon Avenue, I came across some products from “Madame Loulou”. What got my attention was the different all-in-one mixes that they were offering. Believe me, there were a lot of easy-to-cook and easy-to-bake items from Madame Loulou that were on display. I was very tempted to buy everything but since it was a new brand to me, I decided to just purchase one so I could test it out first. I went for the red velvet flavor since it’s one of my favorite types of cakes.

Their red velvet flavored mug cake costs Php99. I don’t know if others might find it expensive or not but I thought that if I would to buy every ingredient needed to make a single-serving of brownie/cake, it would cost me more since I’d have to buy each ingredient in packs.

madame loulou mug cake - instructions

With Madame Loulou’s Mug Cake, the only thing I needed to add was either water or milk. That was it. Very simple, right?

The preparation was also very easy so I didn’t have to spend so much time to finish everything.

I decided to go with milk instead of water in hopes that the cake would be creamier. I poured 50ml of milk in one of my mugs and then slowly, I added the powder into the mix. Their instruction says that I should whip it energetically with a spoon so I did exactly just that.

madame loulou - mug cake 4

After mixing the powder and the milk in a mug, I then placed the mug inside the microwave oven. In their list of instructions, they gave 3 microwave options: (1) cook the mug in a microwave oven at 750W for 1 minute and 25 seconds (2) or cook at 850W for 1 minute and 20 seconds (3) or cook at 1000W for 1 minute and 5 seconds.

madame loulou mug cake - finished product

After microwaving it for 1 minute and 5 seconds (at 1000W), I removed the mug from the microwave and let it rest for 2 minutes, as instructed.

The mug cake did look yummy at first glance. It also smelled good. However, when I tried it, I didn’t like the taste as much. It was quite dense and the flavors were a bit strong for my liking. I ended up not finishing it because the flavor was a bit overwhelming. I don’t know if the taste could have been better if I had added either a scoop of ice cream or some cream cheese on top of it but I do think that I should not have to add anything on it just to make it taste decent. It should be able to stand on its own but, unfortunately, it failed.

 

Madame Loulou

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/madamell/?fref=ts

All About Baking

Official Website: http://www.allaboutbaking.ph/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/allaboutbakingph/?fref=ts

Leave a comment